City of tapas, architecture and football

UNESCO World Heritage Centre

General Information

“Heritage is our legacy from the past, what we live with today, and what we pass on to future generations”

A World Heritage Site is a landmark which has been officially recognized by the UNESCO (United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization). Sites with cultural, historical or scientific significance, are being protected and reserved in order to keep them in the best condition as possible for them to stay here for the generations to come.

Every country is entitled to submit a request to UNESCO in order to ensure the protection of its natural and cultural heritage. Each year a convention is held, in which they announce the new sites that has been recognized by UNESCO as a World Heritage Site.

As of 2016, Spain is ranked number 3 in the world with 45 World Heritage Sites, out of which – 8 in Barcelona (6 of them are Antoni Gaudí‘s works).


List of World Heritage Sites in Barcelona

Park Güell – since 1984

Palacio Güell – since 1984

Casa Mila – since 1984

Palau de la Música Catalana – since 1997

Hospital de Sant Pau – since 1997

Casa Vicens – since 2005

Nativity Façade and Crypt of the Sagrada Familia – since 2005

Casa Batlló – since 2005


Filter by

Contact Us
Aplicant details (required)

Plan Your Own Vacation